Attorney Richard L. Cooper on the consequences of refusing a Florida breath test.
It is a criminal offense to operate vehicles while under the influence of legal or illegal drugs. Being under the influence of antihistamines, painkillers, alcohol or drugs is considered “driving under the influence.” If you have been arrested on a DUI charge, attorney Richard L. Cooper is equipped to handle your case.
Florida DUI Laws
Florida law considers you too drunk to operate a vehicle if you have a blood alcohol or breath alcohol level of .08 or above.
For drivers 21 years of age or younger that are stopped by a law enforcement officer and have a blood alcohol level of .02 or higher, they will automatically have their Florida drivers license suspended for 6 months.
DUI convictions stay on your Florida driving record for 75 years.
You agree to take a blood, urine, or breath test when you sign your drivers license. Therefore, if you are pulled over, you must take one of these tests or risk an immediate one-year suspension of your driver’s license.
DUI First Conviction Penalties in Florida
Depending on the severity of the DUI charge, you may experience some or all of these penalties: